© EBS Administrators
The clearest statement of morality in Judaism is the Ten Commandments.
  1. Hold no other gods before Me.
    1. While Judaism is commonly called a monotheistic religion, this openly acknowledges the existence of other gods, and simply states that the Hebrew god is #1. The correct theological term for this is monolatry (i.e., the preference of one god over all others). Of the Abrahamic religions, only Islam is fully monotheistic, in saying, "There is but one god, and his name is Allah." Anyway...
    2. We believe that God is a personification of natural law, and as such, is all-knowing. There can be only one being of infinite knowledge. Hence we are strict monotheists.
  2. Do not worship idols.
    1. The ancients believed that idols and relics had mystical powers, and many neglected the worship of God in lieu of their figurines and knick-knacks.
    2. We believe that symbols are the primary units of thought itself, and attempting to abolish symbolism is futile. But a symbol is a representation of something — it is not the thing itself, and it has no powers except to remind us of something. So worshiping an idol is senseless.
  3. Do not take the Lord's name in vain.
    1. Agreed, as described earlier. We consider vanity to be the root of all evil.
  4. Keep the Sabbath day holy.
    1. Agreed. This is a tradition dating back to ancient Egypt, and that now is present in many cultures. Spirituality is significant enough to be worth setting aside one day in every seven for reflection on our place in the grand scheme.
  5. Honor your father and your mother.
    1. Agreed.
  6. Do not murder.
    1. Agreed. We even believe that this applies to people practicing other religions.
  7. Do not commit adultery.
    1. Agreed. If you can't be satisfied with monogamy, you're doing it wrong.
  8. Do not steal.
    1. Agreed.
  9. Do not bear false witness against your neighbor.
    1. Agreed.
  10. Do not covet anything that is your neighbor's.
    1. Agreed, same as #8.
Also in the Tanakh (i.e., the Old Testament), the Book of Wisdom (8:7) echoes Plato's list of virtues: temperance, prudence, and justice, and fortitude.

↑ UP Powered by Quick Disclosure Lite
© 2010~2021 SCS-INC.US